//
you're reading...
Certified Ethical Hacker, Ethical Hacking

When you hit a brick wall, you have to try harder!

Ok so last night was 90 percent successful in the setup of the Hack Lab. I was able to setup the local network in VMWare but was struggling with the install of Smoothwall Express 3.0. It seems there is an issue running it in VMWare with a virtual SCSI drive, so I decided to download and try the Endian Community firewall. This firewall was impressive with a nice GUI interface and options, however I still came across a similar problem with the configuration and routing between the VMWare bridged network and the VMNetx networks.  The forum was a bit sketchy when it comes to deploying in VMWare so I could not find the result I wanted with that firewall.

So what it comes down to is I plan to configure Ubuntu Server 10.10 with IPTables and use the UFW program to design the rules for the firewall. This will serve as a gateway for the network and in theory I can use the Bridged network in VMWare instead of using the VMNetx virtual network adaptors. Obviously firewalls operate a lot more efficiently when mapping virtual adaptors to physical NIC cards but as I don’t have a spare server lying around with 2 NICs I have to resort to using VMWare on a laptop.  ** Mental note to self – buy a cheap server in Vegas next year **

I have had success running Check Point firewalls in VMWare to demo Proof of Concepts in my job and since 2008 I have really appreciated the ease of setting up Check Point firewalls. They really have nailed the management interface. Ok I am biased but I have used Juniper and Cisco PIX firewalls in the past and their interfaces were not intuitive like the Check Point Smartdashboard interface.  Only problem is you only get a 15 day eval license with Check Point products and in the real world that is not long enough while you are developing a POC for a client.  I am currently running a project with Check Point and the SSL VPN mobile access client for R71.10 which will allow the client to connect to the network via iPads. Pretty cool eh.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

